Tags

, , ,

A picture of Topshop visual merchandising

An example of Katie’s visual merchandising.

I interviewed Katie Angilletta on her Visual Merchandising journey with Topshop, to give you the inside look at visual merchandising.

 How did you get into VM?

“I have been doing bits of visual merchandising in my store for around a year, but when our stores full time VM went on maternity leave, I took over her role of merchandising and creative.”

 What guidelines are you given?’

“Every quarter we got a ‘Model Store’ guidelines book, which is made of photos, descriptions, along with trend breakdowns and key program lines.

“When it comes to window schemes we get a update on our system every 2 months or so on the new window scheme guidelines. This includes how to install the scheme, any window graphics that should be included, what trend should be featured and inspiration of how to dress the mannequins along with a launch date. I have to make sure each look follows SILIBI- see it, like it, buy it.”

Favourite piece of visual work?

“My favourite shop window I created has to be the Christmas window schemes in 2009 for designer stockist Tessutti. They had 4 large windows and I was allowed to do anything I wanted, as long as it reflected the stores brand image. I had a month and a budget of £100 but scrimping, begging, borrowing and DIY paid off and I had amazing feedback from the store manager.”

 What is your goal?

“My goal is to bag a place in a flagship, or become an area VM or something along those lines, certainly something bigger than my store!”